Photography Depth of Field – Should you care?

Photography Depth of Field – Should you care?

What is Depth of Field in Photography?

Depth of Field in photography is the distance, from the nearest to the farthest, where the image is acceptably sharp.  The focusing system of a camera will first focus on a selected object.  Then, the depth of field will extend in front of that object and about twice as much further away from it based on multiples factors.

This object is on a plane of focus where all objects are sharp.  The plane of focus is like a sphere that is accentuated by shorter focal length.

Shallow photography depth of field

Increased magnification experienced in macro-photography leads to shallow depth of field

Multiples variables are impacting Photography Depth of Field.

  • Shorter focal length as found in Wide-Angle Lens will lead to a greater depth of field.
  • Greater camera to subject distance will also increase depth of field.
  • Smaller sensor size would also increase depth of field.
  • Reducing the light reaching the sensor by using a smaller aperture will have a similar impact.

Impact of focal length on Depth of Field:

While moving the camera away from the subject while increasing the focal length is a technique that impact the appearance of the background.  However, it does not increase depth of field. A greater magnification, which is the result of increasing the focal length while keeping the same distance to the subject, will lead to a shallower depth of field. Photographers taking headshots usually prefer focal length greater than 85mm for this very reason.  Background blur properties are more pleasing to the eyes and the overall picture is more attractive when the background is devoid of details in portrait photography.

On the other hands, this might also represent a challenge for three dimensions subjects that would benefit from a greater level of details.  This is but one of the reasons, wide angle lenses are preferred in Landscape photography when the foreground and the background requires to be sharp.

Landscape photography and depth of field

Keeping everything in focus using a wide angle lens and a small aperture.

Impact of subject distance on Depth of Field:

Subject distance can have dramatic impacts on depth of field.  The farther away the subject is, the greater the depth available within the sharp zone.  Consequently, subjects that are just in front of the lens do represent a challenge.  For example, in Macro-photography, the sharp zone is often below the millimeter.  This could be quite challenging.  In fact, for very small subjects like bugs, that would benefit from both, greater magnification associated with a longer focal length and narrow distance from the sensor, it might be difficult to achieve the desired depth of field.

Impact of sensor size on the sharp zone:

Sensor size is well known for having impact on the sharp zone.  Cellular phones are very good for increasing depth of field at a given magnification level.  Recently, additional software/features of cell phone include the capability to artificially increase the blur of the background in portrait photography.  Various in camera techniques are used to achieve this effect effectively.  Although it is possible to achieve a moderate level of success doing so, recovering sharp details in an out of focus pictures is not yet achievable.

Techniques that impact the sharp zone in photography

In this scenario, a very slow shutter speed is used to introduce blur in the water and the sky reducing distractions.

Impact of aperture on Depth of Field:

One of the easiest ways to control the in-focus distance on both side of the subject is by adjusting the aperture.  On most modern camera, you can set the aperture you want to use and let the camera define other parameters like the speed and sensitivity to light, a.k.a. ISO.  Doing so you do not have to move farther or nearer from the subject or change the lens.  By decreasing the aperture, which result in selecting an aperture associated to a larger number, you will increase the depth of field and vice-versa.

Depth of field in Photography using a large aperture

Shallow depth of field used effectively with a wide angle lens to tell a story.

Why then should you care about Photography Depth of Field?

Advances techniques in photography leads the photographer to decide:

  • What will be in the sharp zone.

The viewer attention is initially attracted by the sharp zone.  The sharp zone should focus on the subject.  Your intention should dictate how much of the subject need to be in focus.  As such, decision on aperture, focal length and subject distance would be influenced that this first decision.

  • What needs to be outside of the sharp zone.

Then, what need to be outside of the in-focus zone if any.  We like everything sharp in landscape photography.  In headshot we often chose to be me more selective.  Macro photography, however, leads to very limited choices.  It is often the time to make tough decisions that might impact the subject itself.  Just try multiples settings and you will be able to appreciate the impact of these.  Do not forget that looking at the back of the camera, out of focus areas will look sharper than on a print or a video monitor.

  • The property of the out of focus area a.k.a. bokeh.

Depending on the blur properties of objects outside the sharp zone they might be recognizable or not.  When the out of focus areas, and more so in the background, is completely devoid of details, the subject detach itself from the background.  As such the overall composition is more pleasing to the eye.  In other scenarios, when the background has enough details, this might increase the value of the pictures.  The subject is then seen in a context that help the story associated with the picture.

Out of focus areas properties using advanced Depth of field techniques

Nice bokeh in the upper right corner is the result of shallow depth of field and greater distance from the background.

Advanced use of Depth of Field is of great interest.

As you can appreciate, advance use of depth of field in photography can help the photographer.  Enabling a picture that lead the viewer from one area to another.  In order to do so, the photographer rely on experience and tools to calculate the exact depth of field based on the above parameters.  The properties of the out of focus areas cannot be calculated though.  Only experience will help the photographer predict this.  When taking the picture, using live view on recent camera, might help appreciate the properties of out of focus areas.  This will be an approximation only since the LCD at the back of the camera is too small to truly appreciate it.

Taking or creating a picture – Depth of Field, a tool in your bag.

Creating a picture is the art of putting together the various objects that will lead the viewer from one part of the picture to other.  The resulting viewing experience should create an emotion.

Depth of Field over time

A few years ago, a very shallow depth of field was a desirable look.  This created interesting pictures and high demand for full frame camera and large aperture lenses.  These days, the majority of published pictures includes a lot of details.  The in focus areas is more important.  This being said, what do you want to say with your pictures.  You are the photographer and you have to take these decisions.

Some nice articles on the subject

Understanding Depth of Field for Beginners by Digital Photography School

Depth of field on Wikipedia

Do you have experiences to share effectively using DoF?

Photography Composition Rules: Break Them!

Photography Composition Rules: Break Them!

Why Photography Composition Rules?

In fact these photography composition rules help simplify something that was particularly hard to define.  Effectively, how would you instruct new artist to create something that is nice to most peoples? These rules are among the first things that we learn in any kind of art.

As such, we stay on the safe side when following photography composition rules. We then avoid risks and our picture will be nice to most peoples.  Is this what you want?

In fact I would like to think that Photography Composition Rules are there to help us support and enhance our message as a photographer.  As such breaking the rules often create some tension which in turn grab the attention.  When I take a picture I ask myself “How can I grab the attention a little more?”

Breaking the photography compositions rules - An example

Photography composition rules were not followed in this example

Today’s picture is a simple one. A single man is walking on the beach in the setting sun.  As far as photography composition rules are concerned, there are multiple problems with this picture:

  • Subject is not on a third line;
  • There is a lot of dead space, also known as negative space, in front of it;
  • Horizon line is in the middle of the frame.

Why should you break photography composition rules?

It is sometime good to break these rules and more so when you want to convey a message with your picture.  Rules of composition tells us to put our subject according to the rule of third.  The rule of thirds suggest that an image should be imagined as divided into nine equal parts by two equally spaced horizontal and vertical lines.  As a result, important elements would be positioned on these lines or their intersections.  Doing so make the overall composition more pleasing to the viewer.

By creating a tension in breaking rules, we can potentially enhance our message.

Breaking the composition rules enabled me to enhance the following:

  • The sense of loneliness in the way this man is inclined forward and his head looking down;
  • Additionally this large dead space in front of him helps increase the impression of loneliness of this man;
  • Although the sunset is colorful, we feel that this man is not enjoying the moment;

All these decisions were intentional on my part when I took the picture.  I saw this man coming from far away slowly walking in our direction.  I frame the shot to create this feeling of loneliness that I felt looking at him coming on that beach.  By intentionally breaking these rules my intention was to help the audience understand the loneliness of this man walking alone in the setting sun.

Know the rules in order to break the rules!

In order to break these photography composition rules a good starting point would be to know them.  Varina Patel tells us in her eBook title:”Building an Image from the ground up” how Composition and Perception comes together to create a powerful image.

Now what do you think?

Does this composition help the picture or not?

A few interesting arctiles on the topic:

About Composition Rules and ways to break them

Expertphotography.com : How to break the rules

Contrastly.com : Rules you can break

About yourself, when do you break the rules of composition?

Negative Space in Photography:  Why and How?

Negative Space in Photography: Why and How?

What is Negative Space?

Negative Space in Photography is the space surrounding the subject.  In most picture, we try to fill the frame.  Therefore, the subject grab most of the attention of the viewer.  In other situation the surrounding space is also part of the story.  However, getting your picture in front of the Eiffel Tower is not taking advantage of negative space though.  Negative space is space without much interest.  As such, the creative use of negative space can help the subject be more intense or more interesting.

Why use Photography Negative Space?

When I came to the Garden of Eden Arboretum on Maui Island, I was not really planning to create a composition leveraging negative space.  From one of the pathway surrounding the garden I came across this view of a waterfall filling in a lovely pond in the middle of the Maui forest.  The pond was far away and down below which created an usual view for a waterfall.

Firstly, using a Tripod and a slow shutter speed of 0,3 second I took a first picture making sure the waterfall was filling the pond on one of the third lines. Then, I zoomed in at 82mm on my 24-105mm zoom lens. As such, the pond is mostly centered on the picture with the bright white waterfall on one third.  A good choice don’t you think?

Subject is filling the frame with the waterfall on one third

Subject is filling the frame with the waterfall on one third

Looking at the resulting picture on my LCD I am disappointed with the end result.  I feel that the landscape in front of me is more appealing.  Did you ever had this feeling when looking back at a picture you have just taken?  In this case, the fact that the oasis is lost in the middle of the jungle make the pond more valuable.

How about using Negative Space in your Pictures?

Using the wide end of the zoom lens I recomposed the picture to have the pond on the intersection of third lines.  By isolating further the pond and the waterfall in the middle of the jungle, this oasis of blue water is gaining much importance.  Both pictures are very nice.  The use of negative space create additional value though.

Efficient use of Negative Space in Photography

Efficient use of Negative Space in Photography

This is a perfect scenario for Negative Space.  Negative space is often used to put the subject off-center.  The negative space is usually just empty space.  This particular scenario do qualify as negative space though.  The jungle is devoid of real interest and accentuate the value of the pond.

This is only one example of negative space composition and you can certainly think about other situation where negative space can create an additional interest.

Examples of Negative Space in Photography

So back to you, did you ever had the feeling that your subject, although being well seen in your picture was missing some appeal?  It might be time for you to test Negative Space on your next shot.

Do you have some examples of yours of Negative Space to show?

Please help other photographers by posting example of Photography Negative Space in picture you took in the comments space.  Better yet, go out and shoot practicing Photography Negative Space! Tell us what you think about the intentional use of Photography Negative Space.

Sélectionner une page
Profondeur de Champ en Photographie – Comment et pourquoi?

Profondeur de Champ en Photographie – Comment et pourquoi?

30Qu’est-ce que la profondeur de champ?

La profondeur de champ est la distance, du point le plus près au plus éloigné ou tout est net. Votre appareil photo fait la mise au point sur un point précis. La profondeur de champ s’étendra à partir de ce point vers l’avant et l’arrière basé sur plusieurs facteurs.

Tous ce qui est inclus dans cette zone, sera net. Cette zone nette est similaire à une sphère.

Un fort grossissement réduit la zone nette

En macro photographie, la combinaison de ces facteurs conduit généralement à une profondeur de champ minime.

Plusieurs facteurs ont un impact sur la profondeur de champ.

  • Une focale courte, telle que sur un objectif grand-angle, produira une plus grande zone nette.
  • S’éloigner du sujet aura également pour effet d’augmenter la profondeur de champ.
  • Un capteur photographique plus petit, comme sur un cellulaire, aura le même effet.
  • Finalement, en réduisant l’ouverture, on augmentera la profondeur de champ.

Impact de la longueur focale sur la zone nette:

En augmentant la longueur focale, on réduit la profondeur de champ. Il est alors requis de s’éloigner du sujet. Ce qui améliore l’aspect de l’arrière plan. Ce faisant, la profondeur de champ demeure la même qu’initialement. En augmentant le facteur d’agrandissement via une longueur focale plus élevée tout en gardant la même distance la profondeur de champ s’en trouvera réduite. En photographie de portrait, une longueur focale supérieure à 85mm est souvent utilisée pour cette raison. Cela rends l’arrière plan plus gracieux et plaisant puisque cela élimine des détails et distractions.

D’un autre coté cela peut représenter un défi lorsque vient le temps de photographier des objets en trois dimensions qui nécessitent de préserver tous les détails. Cela fait partie des raisons qui rendent les objectifs grand-angle si populaire en photographie de paysage.

Zone nette étendue dans ce paysage

Ainsi, on peut utiliser une petite ouverture et un objectif grand-angle pour garder toute la scène nette.

La profondeur de champ et la distance au sujet:

La distance entre le sujet et la caméra influence grandement la zone nette. Lorsque le sujet est à bonne distance, on bénéficie d’une plus grande zone nette. À l’opposé, les sujets qui sont tout près représente un défi supplémentaire. En photographie macro, la profondeur de champ peut être inférieure au millimètre. Cela représente un défi d’importance. Dans les faits il peut être impossible d’obtenir une profondeur de champ suffisante, pour conserver tous les détails, en photographie d’insecte.

Taille du capteur photographique et profondeur de champ:

La taille du capteur a un impact important sur la profondeur de champ. Un téléphone cellulaire permet aisément une grande profondeur de champ du à son très petit capteur. Ce qui a poussé les manufacturier à ajouter des fonctionnalités logicielles qui ont pour but de réduire artificiellement la profondeur de champ. En activant ces fonctionnalités il devient donc possible d’avoir un meilleur contrôle sur la profondeur de champ. Bien qu’il soit possible de réduire la profondeur de champ via ces techniques, il demeure toujours impossible de récupérer les détails manquant dus à une profondeur de champ insuffisante.

Réduire la profondeur de champ en utilisant d'autres techniques

Dans cette photo une vitesse d’obturation très lente a été utilisée pour réduire la zone nette.

L’ouverture et la zone nette:

Un des moyens les plus faciles pour contrôler la profondeur de champs consiste à modifier l’ouverture de l’objectif. Sur la plupart des caméras on peut spécifier l’ouverture et laisser la caméra prendre la décision en ce qui a trait à la vitesse d’obturation et la sensibilité. Ce faisant vous n’avez pas à vous déplacer d’avant en arrière ou encore de changer d’objectif. En refermant l’ouverture, ce qui veut dire de sélectionner un nombre plus élevé, la profondeur de champ sera plus grande et vice-versa.

Une grande ouverture et le mouvement contribue à créer une zone nette réduite

Un exemple de profondeur de champ réduite obtenue efficacement avec un grand-angle.

Pourquoi donc ce soucier de ce qui apparaîtra net?

Techniques avancées en photographie à envisager:

  • Qu’est-ce qui devrait être dans la zone nette:

L’attention de votre audience est initialement attirée par ce qui est net. La zone nette devrait donc englober votre sujet. C’est votre intention qui devrait dicter ce qui doit être net. Conséquemment, cela devrait guider vos choix pour l’ouverture, la distance de même que la longueur focale.

  • Qu’est-ce qui devrait être hors de la zone nette?

D’une aussi grande importance, quels sont les distractions que nous désirons éliminer par l’utilisation efficace de la zone floue. En photographie de paysage on aime bien que tout soit net. En photographie de portrait, nous désirons usuellement être plus sélectif. La macro-photographie cependant nous offres des choix qui sont beaucoup plus limités C’est souvent le temps de faire des compromis. Pourquoi alors ne pas essayer plusieurs réglages distincts dans le but d’apprécier plusieurs facettes d’un même sujet. N’oubliez pas en regardant votre viseur que celui-ci rendra tout plus net due à sa petite taille comparé à un moniteur vidéo ou une impression papier.

  • Les propriété de la zone hors-foyer aussi appelé bokeh

Selon le niveau de floue dans la zone hors foyer, les objets pourraient être reconnaissable ou non. Quand la zone hors foyer est complètement dénuée de détails, le sujet se détache naturellement de l’arrière plan. Ce qui garde toute l’attention sur le sujet. Dans d’autres scénarios, l’arrière plan conserve suffisamment de détails pour ajouter à l’intention photographique. Le sujet est donc aperçu dans un contexte, plus ou moins flou, qui aide à l’interprétation.

Le bokeh de l'arrière-plan est très artistique. Maitrise de la profondeur de champ

La zone flou dans le coin supérieur droit est très plaisante du à la longueur focale et une grande distance avec l’arrière plan.

L’utilisation optimale de la profondeur de champ est pertinente.

Elle aide le photographe à livrer son message. Cela permet de guider l’œil à travers l’image. Le photographe se basera sur son expérience, de même que sur des outils de calcul pour déterminer la profondeur de champ exacte qui contribuera à son message. Les propriétés esthétiques de la zone hors foyer ne peuvent pas être calculées cependant. Il n’y a que l’expérience qui peut guider le photographe. En utilisant le viseur, lors de la prise de vue, on peut avoir un indice sur les propriétés de la zone hors foyer. Il s’agira uniquement d’une approximation puisque la surface du viseur et de l’écran arrière sont trop petits pour en apprécier toute les subtilités.

Prendre ou créer une photo – La zone nette – un outil de création.

La création d’une image consiste à disposer adéquatement les éléments qui guideront l’œil dans la composition. Ce faisant il est probable qu’une émotion rende la photo plus mémorable.

Profondeur de champs et mode.

Il y a quelques année, une profondeur de champ réduite était de mise. Ce qui a créé une demande plus importante pour les appareils plein capteur et les objectifs lumineux. De nos jours, la majorité des photos publiées sur Instagram sont dotées d’une profondeur de champ étendue. La zone nette est beaucoup plus importante. Cela dit, ce qui est important est ce que vous avez à dire et comment vous voulez le dire avec vos photos. Vous êtes le photographe. À vous donc de prendre ces décisions.

Some nice articles on the subject

Pour les débutants selon apprendre-la-photographie.net

Sur le même sujet selon Wikipedia

Vous désirez partager votre propre expérience sur le sujet?

Règle de Composition en Photographie:  Brisez-les!

Règle de Composition en Photographie: Brisez-les!

Règles de Composition Photographique: Brisez-les!

Pourquoi briser les règles de compositions en photographie?

Dans un premier temps, doit-on briser les règles de compositions en photographie ?  Dans les faits ces règles ont été édictées dans le but de simplifier l’enseignement de concept qui sont difficiles à définir autrement.  Comment pourriez vous expliquer à de jeunes étudiants en art ce qui est généralement beau et esthétique.  Ces règles sont donc les premières choses que l’on nous enseignes.  Elles nous permettent d’éviter les risques et de créer quelque chose qui est généralement esthétique.

En suivant les règles de composition photographique, nous demeurons en sécurité.  Est-ce que c’est ce que vous désirez?

J’aimerais que vous considériez ces règles de composition photographique comme une façon de supporter et d’ajouter de l’impact à votre message.  Brisez les règles devient donc un exercice délibéré qui a pour but de retenir l’attention de votre audience.  Lorsque vous prenez une photo, vous pourriez vous demander “Comment puis-je retenir l’attention un peu plus longtemps”  En créant une tension, ce que provoque souvent une infraction à ces règles, on réussit souvent à retenir l’attention un peu plus longtemps.

Briser les règles de compositions photographique

Les règles usuelles de compositions sont bafouées dans cette photo

Nous avons ici une photo toute simple.  La silhouette d’un homme seul marchant sur la plage lors d’un soleil couchant.  Il y a de nombreux problèmes de compostion dans cette photo:

  • Le sujet n’est pas sur la ligne des tiers;
  • Il y a beaucoup d’espace mort, aussi appelé espace négatif, dans cette photo;
  • L’horizon est en plein centre de la photo.

Pourquoi briser les Règles de Composition Photographique?

Briser ces règles devrait être un geste intentionnel qui a un but spécifique.  La règle des tiers nous enseigne à mettre notre sujet sur l’un des points de rencontre d’un tic-tac-toe imaginaire surimposé sur le rectangle qu’est la photo.  Cela permet généralement à notre sujet d’être en harmonie avec la scène ce qui est plus esthétique.

En brisant cette règle l’on crée une tension additionnelle.  Celle-ci peut à son tour ajouter de l’impact au message.

En enfreignant volontairement ces règles de composition photographique j’ai pu mettre en lumière ce qui suit:

  • Le sentiment de solitude de la silhouette de cette homme courbé qui regarde le sol à ses pieds tout en marchant;
  • L’espace, autrement inutile, à l’avant et au dessus dans la scène contribue à accentuer cette solitude;
  • Bien que le contexte évoque chez nous la joie, cette homme ne semble pas en jouir ce qui crée une tension additionnelle.

J’ai donc intentionnellement enfreint ces règles de composition dans le but de mettre l’accent sur la solitude de cet homme dans un contexte qui inspire le contraire.

Connaître les règles de composition photographique permet de les briser!

Bien connaître ces règles de composition permet plus facilement d’apprécier les occasions qui nous sont présentées de les briser.

Qu’en dites-vous?

Est-ce que le fait d’enfreindre ces règles aide cette photo?

Articles additionnels sur le sujet

Quand avez vous enfreint des règles de composition photographique intentionnellement pour la dernière fois?

Espace Négatif en Photographie – Pourquoi et Comment?

Espace Négatif en Photographie – Pourquoi et Comment?

Qu’est-ce que l’espace négatif en photographie ?

L’espace négatif en photographie est apparenté à de l’espace vide.  Cependant, cet espace n’est pas simplement vide.  Il est dépourvu d’intérêt d’où la mention généralement retenue d’espace négatif.

Utilisation de l’espace négatif en photographie

Notre intention usuelle est d’utiliser tout l’espace pour le sujet.  D’ailleurs, c’est une bonne façon d’aborder la photographie d’un sujet.  Par contre, un espace négatif contribue à l’histoire ou à l’intention photographique en permettant au sujet d’acquérir une importance plus grande.

En réalité, un égo-portrait devant la tour Eiffel n’a donc rien à voir avec l’utilisation de l’espace négatif. Pour que l’espace soit négatif il doit être dénué d’intérêt sans pour autant être inutile.  Cela est contradictoire, j’en conviens. Nous procéderons donc avec un exemple.

Exemple d’une photo ou tout l’espace est accordé au sujet.

En arrivant au Jardin d’Éden sur l’ile de Maui “Garden of Eden Arboretum”, je cherchais simplement à créer de belles images.  Sur l’un des sentiers du jardin j’ai aperçu cette chute d’eau se déversant dans cette oasis au milieu de la jungle.  L’oasis était à bonne distance en contrebas ce qui lui donnait un aspect original.

J’ai pris une première photo, avec l’aide d’un trépied ,à une vitesse lente de 0,3 secondes en utilisant une longueur focale de 82mm.  Ce faisant l’oasis occupe la plus grande partie de l’image.  La composition est adéquate.  Le filet d’eau de la chute se positionne sur l’un des tiers. Tout semble donc parfait.

Sujet occupe toute la place sur la photo.

Cette image serait plus intéressante en utilisant l’espace Négatif.

Je regarde la photo sur mon écran LCD et elle de rends pas justice à la scène devant moi. Cet oasis est magnifique perdue au milieu de la jungle.  L’image sur l’écran arrière est décevante.  La réalité est tellement plus belle!  Vous avez déjà eu cette impression?

J’ai donc eu l’idée de recréer cette impression initiale en utilisant l’espace négatif.

Utilisation de l’espace négatif:

J’ai donc isolé l’oasis au milieu de la jungle en utilisant une longueur focale plus proche du grand angle.  L’eau bleu de l’oasis a donc plus d’importance.  La jungle environnante n’est pas dépourvue de détails.  Elle est cependant dépourvue d’intérêt.  Nos yeux sont immédiatement attirés vers l’oasis.  Dans les faits l’immensité de la jungle augmente l’intérêt que nous portons à l’oasis.  Son isolement souligne son importance.

Espace négatif en Photographie

Exemple d’espace négatif en photographie

Les deux photos sont magnifiques.  Cela dit, l’oasis perdue au milieu de la jungle a vraiment quelque chose de plus.

Essayez le par vous-même.  Vous avez un sujet intéressant?  En périphérie de celui-ci il y a de l’espace sans distraction?  Il vous suffit de cadrer plus large et d’observer le résultat.

Scénarios supplémentaire utilisant l’espace négatif:

  • Un portrait décentré ou le regard se perd dans l’espace vide ;
  • Un espace vide devant un animal ou un objet qui se déplace.

Vous arrive-t-il d’ajouter intentionnellement un espace négatif?